Changing the Government

Articles of Confederation

- Made up of a loose confederation of thirteen states
- Representatives of Congress chosen by state legislatures
- Each state, no matter what size, only receives one vote in Congress
- Federal government had no power to tax or establish a common currency
- No judicial or executive branch

U.S. Constitution

- Made up of thirteen states under one centralized government
- Representatives of Congress elected by the people
- States receive equal votes in the Senate and varying numbers based on population in the House of Representatives
- Federal government has many reserved economic powers, including power to tax and exclusive power to coin money
- Includes judicial and executive branches with powers equal to those of Congress